University Libraries Team Wins Digital Libraries Award

Marketing and Communications | May 01, 2014

A team of librarians and computer scientists at the Texas A&M University Libraries received the 2014 Excellence in Digital Libraries award at the Texas Conference on Digital Libraries in Austin, April 28. The award recognizes an institution, group or project that has demonstrated overall excellence in one or more areas of digital library practice.

The University Libraries' team received the award for the “Texas Agricultural Experiment Station Bulletin to HathiTrust Project.” The team collaborated interdepartmentally to develop an innovative workflow, which improved digital access and discoverability of 1,200 Experiment Station bulletins submitted to Hathi Trust Digital Library, providing free and open access to the research of the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station. The collection of 1,200 bulletins includes research reports published from 1888 to 1998. The team continues to digitize additional bulletins and make them available through the Hathi Trust Digital Library.

“Improving access to Texas A&M research helps support agriculture in the State of Texas,” said Dr. Bruce Herbert, Director of the Office of Scholarly Communications in the Sterling C. Evans Library.

Recipients of the team award included Dr. Robert McGeachin, Michael Bolton, Violeta Ilik, Sarah Potvin, Jeannette Ho, Lisa Furubotten, Stephanie Elmquist, Dr. Bruce Herbert and Dr. Holly Jarvis of the University Libraries.


For more information: contact Charlene Clark, Texas A&M University Libraries; 979.862.4233 or